2006 Southwest Test Workshop
(Each presentation is in Adobe Acrobat format)

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Dinner Guest Speaker - Mike Campbell (Qualcomm)
Opening Session - Chairman's Welcome
Session 1 - HVM (High Volume Manufacturing) Challenges
Session 2 - Multi-DUT / High Pin Count Methodologies
Session 3 - Pad Damage
Session 4 - Contact Resistance Methodologies
Session 5 - Large Area Probing
Session 6 - IMSI-SEMATECH and Probe Metrology Panel
Session 7 - Probe Pourri
Session 8 - Probe Test Data Management

 




DINNER SESSION
Top | Session 1 | Session 2 | Session 3 | Session 4 | Session 5 | Session 6 | Session 7 | Session 8

"Probe Year in Review"

Bill Mann
General Chair
william.mann@ieee.org

 

 


"Managing Subcontracted Testing"

Mike Campbell

Vice President of Engineering

Qualcomm

 

 



CHAIRMAN'S WELCOME
Top | Session 1 | Session 2 | Session 3 | Session 4 | Session 5 | Session 6 | Session 7 | Session 8

"Welcome to SWTW-2006"

Bill Mann
General Chair
Southwest Test Workshop
william.mann@ieee.org

 

 


"SWTW Lifetime Achievement Award" as presented by Bill Mann

K. Reed Gleason

Eric W. Strid
Co - Founders

Cascade MicroTech

 

 



Session 1 - HVM (High Volume Manufacturing) CHALLENGES
Top | Session 1 | Session 2 | Session 3 | Session 4 | Session 5 | Session 6 | Session 7 | Session 8

"Multiple Re-Sort Effects on Cu Bump Technology"

Weida Qian

Zhongkai Xu

James Stiehl

Chris Tran

Intel Corporation

weida.qian@intel.com

Zhongkai.Xu@intel.com

James.Stiehl@intel.com

 

 

 


"Searching For Correlations In HVM Wafer Testing"

Zhineng Fan, Ph.D.

Youssef Fassi

Rey Rincon

SV Probe

zfan@svprobe.com

Tuan Duong

Intel Corporation

 

 


"Development of Next Generation Probe Card Maintenance Process for Wafer Sort"

Zhiming Mei

Intel Corporation

Zhiming.mei@intel.com



Session 2 - MULTI-DUT / HIGH PIN METHODOLOGIES
Top | Session 1 | Session 2 | Session 3 | Session 4 | Session 5 | Session 6 | Session 7 | Session 8  

Winner - Best Presentation, Tutorial in Nature
"Lessons Learned Probing Power Management Devices in a Multi-DUT Test Format
"

Paul ONeil

Cascade MicroTech Europe

PaulO@cmicro.com

 

 


"Low Force Interface for Multi-DUT Logic and Memory Applications"

Gerald Back

Habib Kilicaslan

SV Probe

gback@svprobe.com

HKilicaslan@svprobe.com

 

 


"Methodology of Stable Probe Card Power Path Design for Wafer Level Testing"

Sayed Mobin

Intel Corporation

sayed.h.mobin@intel.com

 

 



Session 3 - PAD DAMAGE
Top | Session 1 | Session 2 | Session 3 | Session 4 | Session 5 | Session 6 | Session 7 | Session 8

"Modified Tool for Developmental Analysis and Real Time QRA Probe Card and Sockets
"

Terence Q. Collier

CVInc.

TQCollier@covinc.com

   


Winner - Best Data Presentation
"Key Methods in Reducing Pad Crack Risk at Probing Low-k Wafers"

Frank Hwang

Steve Hsu

J. H. Chen

TSMC

sxhwang@tsmc.com

mchsu@tsmc.com

jhchenk@tsmc.com

Dean Yang

Wensen Hung

Jacky Tsai

Micronics Japan Co. LTD

Dean.Yang@mpi.com.tw

 

 


"Controlling Bond Pad Damage at 129C Probing"

Daniel Fresquez

Eddie McClanahan

Al Wegleitner

Texas Instruments, Inc.

a-wegleitner@ti.com

   


"Pad Damage Management on the Test Floor"

John Strom

Applied Precision, LLC

JStrom@api.com

   



Session 4 - CRES METHODOLOGIES
Top | Session 1 | Session 2 | Session 3 | Session 4 | Session 5 | Session 6 | Session 7 | Session 8  

Winner - Most Inspirational Presentation
"
Novel Methodologies for Assessing On-line Probe Process Parameters"

Jerry Broz, Ph.D.

Brice Blanc

Gene Humphrey

International Test Solutions

jerryb@inttest.net

briceb@inttest.net

geneh@inttest.net

Rhett Moore

Micron Technology

rrmoore@micron.com

 

Patrick Mui

JEM America

pmui@jemam.com

 


Co-Winner - Best Technical Presentation
"Parametric Study of Contact Fritting for Improved CRes Stability"

Dr. Christian Degen

Oliver Nagler

Michael Horn

Dr. Florian Kaesen

Infineon Technologies AG

christian.degen@infineon.com

Michael.Horn@infineon.com

oliver.nagler@infineon.com

florian.kaesen@infineon.com

   


Co-Winner - Best Technical Presentation

"Fritting Experiences with Non-ohmic CRES While Wafer Test Probing"

Jan Martens

Philips Semiconductors Hamburg

jan.martens_2@philips.com

 

 

 

"CRES Control Using CDA as a Shielding Gas"

Steve Austin

Gary Grayson

Al Wegleitner

Texas Instruments, Inc.

a-wegleitner@ti.com

 

 



Session 5 - LARGE AREA PROBING
Top | Session 1 | Session 2 | Session 3 | Session 4 | Session 5 | Session 6 | Session 7 | Session 8 
 

"Prober Stability with Large Probing Area and High Pin-count"

Gunther Boehm

Feinmetall GmbH

g.boehm@feinmetall.de

 


"One Touch 300mm Wafer Probing"

Sunil Wijeyesekera

Makarand Shinde

FormFactor, Inc.

swijeyesekera@formfactor.com

MShinde@formfactor.com

 


"Extreme Sports"

Roger Sinsheimer

Xandex

RSinsheimer@xandex.com



Session 6 - IMSI SEMATECH and PROBE METROLOGY PANEL
Top | Session 1 | Session 2 | Session 3 | Session 4 | Session 5 | Session 6 | Session 7 | Session 8  

"The Probe-Centric Future of Test
"

Jack Courtney

IBM Microelectronics

jcourtne@us.ibm.com

Nadine Aldahhan

Freescale

nadine.aldahhan@freescale.com

Michael Egloff

AMD

michael.egloff@amd.com


"Probe Metrology Panel Discussion"

Nadine Aldahhan (Freescale)

Darren Coil (Intel)

Jack Courtney (IBM)

Brett Crump (Micron)

Mike Harris (Texas Instruments)

Jens Kober (AMD)

Ger Koch (Philips Semiconductor)

Frank Pietzschmann (Qimonda)

 



Session 7 - PROBE POURRI
Top | Session 1 | Session 2 | Session 3 | Session 4 | Session 5 | Session 6 | Session 7 | Session 8

"
High Current Wafer Probing Solution"

Mark McLaren

Integrated Technology Corporation

markm@inttechcorp.com

 

 


"Maximizing the Performance of an Atypical Cantilever Probe Wire Material"

Frederick Taber

Consultant

taberconsulting@optonline.net


"Bandwidth Improvement Techniques on Probe Cards"

Habib Kilicaslan

Bahadir Tunaboylu, Ph.D.

SV Probe

HKilicaslan@svprobe.com

btunaboylu@svprobe.com


"Implementing Inkless Wafer Sort"

Mark Banke

Altera Corporation

MBANKE@altera.com

 

 



Session 8 - PROBE TEST DATA MANAGEMENT
Top | Session 1 | Session 2 | Session 3 | Session 4 | Session 5 | Session 6 | Session 7 | Session 8 

"Highly Efficient DPPM Programs Depend on Pre-production and Post-probe Data Analysis
"

Michael Scott

Greg Labonte

Test Advantage, Inc.

michael.scott@testadvantage.com


"Automated Correlation Wafer Management and Processing
"

Jeffrey C. Quinton

Delphi Delco

jeffrey.c.quinton@delphi.com

F. B. Lynch III

Steve Sato

Electroglas

fblynch@electroglas.com

ssato@electroglas.com


"Dynamic Test-Cell Controller"

Rob Marcelis

Salland Engineering

rob.marcelis@salland.com


 


SWTW 2006 Chairs:
William Mann, General Chair
Jerry Broz, Ph.D., International Test Solutions, Technical Program Chair
Maddie Harwood, CEM Inc., Registration and Finance Chair
Megan White, CEM Inc., EXPO Coordinator

SWTW 2006 Program Committee:

Jack Courtney, IBM Microelectronics

Michael Egloff, AMD

Michael Harris, Texas Instruments

Ken Karklin, Agilent Technologies

Ger Koch, Philips Semiconductor

Scott Mitchell, Texas Instruments

Rey Rincon, Kulicke and Soffa

Phil Seitzer, Agere (Retired)

Roger Sinsheimer, Xandex

Tim Swettlen, Intel

Fred Taber, BiTS Workshop General Chair

Bill Williams, Freescale (Retired)